Thursday, January 20, 2011

Greater KL MRT Kota Damansara-Cheras Line

Greater Kuala Lumpur project seems to be pretty good. With the new MRT line linking Sg Buloh - Kajang (Red Line), we don't have to bother driving from PJ to KL anymore. But, there is one thought, what about Hartamas and Mon't Kiara? Have they overlooked on that area? There are so many high rise condo units coming up and most are already almost nearing completion. It's definitely gonna cause huge traffic congestion in time to come. I guess they must have had the "rich people don't ride public transport" thoughts when they were planning on the route I guess. Or, let the rich fellas take a bus to Eastin and ride the MRT instead!

Anyway, here are some very good information that was shared by Have fun reading.

PATCHAY.COM finds out this week the Greater KL MRT project is a dream come true for commuters who are stuck in traffic jams every week days.

- Malaysia's largest megaproject and first Mass Rapit Transit (MRT) project.

- The Greater KL MRT Project is one of the key initiative identified under the government's Economic Transformation Programme (ETP).

- Project Delivery Partner (project manager) awarded to MMC-Gamuda Joint Venture Sdn Bhd.

- Project owner is Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd.

- Project regulator and licensing authority is Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

- The Sg Buloh-Kajang MRT Line is the first of at least 3 MRT lines being planned, with a total length of 150km.

- Estimated total costs of three MRT lines is at least RM36.6 billion.

- The first phase is scheduled for ground breaking in July 2011 and fully operational by 2016.

- The whole MRT project is expected to create 130,000 jobs.

- The implementation is expected to generate Gross National Income of between RM3 billion and RM4 billion beginning 2011 until 2020.

- By 2020, the MRT is expected to carry 2 million riders, serving over 11% of total travel across Klang Valley and 64% of travel in and out of KL City Centre.

Sg Buloh-Kajang MRT

- Estimated to be between 60km to 65km in length.

- 35 stations, with 11 of them incorporating park-and-ride facilities.

- Population catchment of 1.2 million, with estimated daily ridership of 442,000.

- Between 9.5km and 10.5km of the length will be underground.

- The portion that passes through densely populated area such as Damansara and KL Central Business District will be underground.

- A ride from the first to the last station will take approximately 90 minutes.

- Integration with existing KTM Komuter stations in Sungai Buloh and Kajang.

- Integration with existing LRT stations either at KL Sentral or Pasar Seni and Maluri.

- May integrate with future MRT Line stations at Pusat Bandar Damansara and KL International Financial District (KLIFD).

- Connectivity for upcoming mega urban development area such as Sg Buloh RRIM, Warisan Merdeka, KLIFD and Cochrane City.

Sg Buloh-Kajang MRT
Provisional Route & Proposed Stations (Red Line)

1. Sg Buloh KTM ***
2. Kg Baru Sg Buloh
4. Kota Damansara Utara
5. Taman Industri Sg Buloh
6. Kota Damansara Selatan
7. Dataran Sunway, Kota Damansara
8. The Curve, Mutiara Damansara
9. 1 Utama Central Park, Bandar Utama
10. Taman Tun Dr Ismail
11. Seksyen 17
12. Eastin Phileo Damansara
13. Pusat Bandar Damansara ***
14. UOA Damansara, Jalan Semantan
15. Taman Duta
16. KL Sentral ***
17. Pasar Seni LRT ***
18. Warisan Merdeka
19. Pudu ***
20. Bukit Bintang ***
21. KL International Financial District ***^
22. Jalan Cochrane
23. Maluri ***
24. Taman Bukit Ria
25. Taman Midah/Bukit Mewah
26. Cheras Leisure Mall, Taman Segar
27. Phoenix Plaza
28. Taman Cuepacs
29. Taman Suntex
30. Bandar Tun Hussein Onn
31. Balakong/Cheras Selatan
32. Taman Koperasi Cuepacs
33. Taman Mesra
34. Kajang Stadium
35. Kajang KTM ***
*** Probable integration with existing and future rail infrastructure.
^ KLIFD is a new megaproject located near Bulatan Pandan.

1 comment: